The International Masters Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) is located at the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA.  The inaugural induction took place in January, 2003 at the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

SELECTION PROCEDURE: Masters athletes must be competing for a minimum of 16 years, spanning four five-year age groups.  The minimum age requirement for beginning consideration is 25 years of age (as established by FINA).

Approximately nine inductees shall be selected annually. Representation shall be proportionate to each discipline's numbers of participants worldwide: 3 female swimmers, 3 male swimmers, 3 divers, synchronized swimmers, water polo players or contributors.

A point ranking system has been devised for the swimming discipline only:     
Masters World Records – starting with the MSI list dated Nov 1983 to current
Each record – 10 points

Masters World Rankings - USA Long Course before 1986, MSI Long and Short Course 1986-1991, and FINA Long and Short Course 1992-present.
                      1st Place - 5 points
                      2nd Place - 3 points
                      3rd Place - 1 point

FINA Masters World Championships (1986 to current held every 2 years)
                      1st Place - 3 points
                      2nd Place - 2 points
                      3rd Place - 1 point

The Selection Committee, chaired by Walt Reid with June Krauser Chairman Emeritus is comprised of 62 international authorities in the sport, receives and considers nominees. A balloting process is used to finalize those selected for induction.


Copyright ©   ISHOF | One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us