Al Schoenfield was editor and publisher of Swimming World and Swimming Technique magazines (1960-1977) and served on various international committees for swimming including the FINA Technical Swimming Committee (1980-1984).

Al's life was a commitment to swimming.  He participated in its administrative structure and spread its stories through his magazines and promotions. Al died on April 19, 2005, but his legacy will forever endure to all who have benefited from his lifetime of service to swimming.





Tamás Gyárfás

Tamás Gyárfás


For nearly 40 years, Tamás Gyárfás has been a professional journalist writer, author, publisher, television producer, volunteer and sport administrator. He was introduced to the world of sport through water polo and sport became his passion and profession. He began reporting on swimming in 1972 as head columnist for Nepsport. In the late 1970’s through the early 1990’s he served as editor of International Swimming and Water Polo Magazine. Since 1989 has been owner and President of Hungary’s NAP TV and publisher of Sport Plusz Newspaper. He has been Editor in Chief of LEN Magazine and is presently Editor in chief of the FINA Aquatics World Magazine.

Tamas has served with distinction as the General Secretary of the International Sports Journalists Association form 1993 to 1997. Among the many administrative positions he currently holds are - President of the Hungarian Swimming Federation, Vice President of the Hungarian Olympic Committee, Vice President of LEN, Chairman of the Organizing Committee for the 2010 European Swimming Champi-onships and Member of the FINA Bureau. He has received the Knight’s Cross of the Hungarian Republic, the Award of the Hungarian Olympic Order and was twice voted Sportleader of the Year by the Hungarian Sports Association.

The International Swimming Hall of Fame is honored to recognize Tamás Gyárfás as this year’s recipient of the Al Schoenfield Media Award.

Previous Award Recipients...

2009 Heinz Kluetmeier
2008 Phil Whitten

2007 Craig Lorg
2006 Bud Greenspan
2005 Nick Thierry
2004 Camillo Cametti
2003 Francois Oppenheim
2002 Diana Nyad

2001 Donna deVarona
2000 Sharon Robb
1999 Jean Pierre Lacour
1999 Eric Lahmy
1998 Frank Litsky
1997 Jim Mckay
1996 Arlie Schardi


Copyright ©   ISHOF | One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us