Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial

Conceived and donated by the New England Marathon Swimming Association in honor of Irving Davids and Captain Roger W. Wheeler, this award recognizes contributors to the administration of open water swimming.




For nearly 20 years, Lynn has been involved in the administration and organization of marathon swimming.  She started as an aid for the annual swim at Lake Mempremagoy, Quebec, Canada, a race which attracted marathon swimmers from all over the world.  She quickly rose to the position of Vice-President of the organization and then to President of the Board of Directors of the race in 1993, 1994 and 1995.  She serves as race director and has always conducted an exemplary event.

A power struggle existed between FINA and the International Marathon Swimming Association (IMSA), as to which organization would administer the sport.  Lynn assumed an ever-increasing role in the conduct of business within the IMSA.  Eventually she helped to repair the relationship and to solve the problems between the two organizations. As with all other world swimming disciplines, in the end, marathon swimming came under the jurisdiction of FINA.

Lynn served as a delegate to many international swims throughout Canada, Italy, Argentina and other South American countries.  She remains a very resourceful link for all swimmers and race organizers.

She continues to serve as the Vice President of the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.


Previous Award Recipients...

1970  Joe Grossman
1971  Gerald Forsberg
1972  Buck Dawson
1973  Willy van Rysel
1974  Jerry Nason
1975  R. and A. Scott

1976  Aquatique Club Dulac St. Jean
1977  Connie Wennerberg
1978  Charles E. Silvia
1979  Dennis Matuch
1980-2001  Award Retired
2002  James J. Doty
2003  British Long Distance Swimming Association

2004  Roger & Val Parsons


Copyright ©   ISHOF | One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us