Hall of Fame About Us


FORT LAUDERDALE, November 4, 2011 The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) today announced the Honoree Induction Class of 2011, consisting of 11 athletes, coaches and outstanding contributors to the world of aquatics.

Four-time Olympian Gustavo Borges of Brazil and U.S. long distance swimmer Chad Hundeby head the 11-member honoree Class of 2012 that will be inducted on May 12 at the 47th annual International Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies in Fort Lauderdale.

Borges competed in four Olympic Games (1992-2004). He won four Olympic medals, two silver and two bronze medals in the 100- and 200-meter freestyle and 400-meter freestyle relay. Hundeby won FINA’s first open water world championship in 1991, broke a 16-year-old English Channel Crossing record in 1994 and dominated every major long distance race in the world
during his career.

Other members of the Class of 2012 include:
Domenico Fioravanti, Italy, the first Italian swimmer to win a gold medal in the Olympic Games (2000), winning both the 100- and 200-meter breaststroke events.

Jozsef Szabo, Hungary, won the Olympic gold medal at the 1988 Seoul Olympics, one world championship and three European championships in the 200-meter breaststroke.

Tian Liang, China, the world-class 10-meter platform diver won two gold, one silver and one bronze medal in two Olympic Games (2000-2004) and won three world championship titles.

Jill Sudduth, U.S., the synchronized swimmer won gold in the team and duet events at the 1994 World Championships and was a member of the 1996 Olympic team that earned a perfect score and won the gold medal in Atlanta.

Jesus Miguel Rolla,n Prada, Spain, the water polo player was one of the all-time greatest goalkeepers competing in five Olympic Games where he won a gold medal in 1996 and silver medal in 1992.

Laszlo Kiss, Hungary, the Hungarian national swim team coach for more than 40 years coached swimmers to ten Olympic and eight world championship medals.

Frank Kurtz, U.S., the first diver to qualify for three Olympic teams, won a bronze medal at the 1932 Olympics on platform and later became a famous World War II pilot.

Eldon Godfrey, Canada, has been involved in international aquatic sports administration for nearly forty years as a diving judge, FINA bureau member, UANA president and FINA Bureau honorary member.

Dr. Julio Maglione, Uruguay, has devoted his life to international sports that began as a swimmer in the Pan American Games; was elected FINA president in 2009; and has held several other positions as President of his national swimming federation and IOC member.

The International Hall of Fame, established in 1965, is a not-for-profit educational organization located in
Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Its mission is to promote the benefits and importance of swimming as a key to
fitness, good health, quality of life, and the water safety of all adults and children. It accomplishes this
through operation of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, a dynamic shrine dedicated to the history,
memory, and recognition of the famous swimmers, divers, water polo players, synchronized swimmers
and people involved in life saving activities and education whose lives and accomplishments inspire,
educate, and provide role models for people around the world.

Greg LouganisEraldo

One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us