Hall of Fame About Us


Fort Lauderdale – Sponsored by Pentair Aquatic Systems, the International Swimming Hal of Fame (ISHOF) announced today the recipients of the 2013 Paragon Awards. The Paragon Awards are presented annually to individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to: Competitive Swimming, Water Polo, Competitive Diving, Aquatic Safety, Synchronized Swimming and Recreational Swimming.  This year’s awards will be presented on Friday, May 11, 2013, at a ceremony at the ISHOF in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA.

“Pentair is honored to be associated with the International Swimming Hall of Fame and to recognize leaders in the aquatic industry who play a prominent role in the promotion of swimming”, said Jim Drozdowski, Institutional Aquatics Sales Manager for Pentair Aquatic Systems. 

“The annual Paragon Awards bring some of the most interesting and fascinating people each year to the Hall of Fame,” said ISHOF President/CEO Bruce Wigo.  “These are the unsung heroes who make competitive and recreational aquatics possible, who save lives, who promote water safety and further aquatic education.”

The Paragon Awards are part of ISHOF’s 49th Annual Hall of Fame Honoree Weekend, May 9 – 12.  For ticket information visit www.ishof.org or call 954-462-6536.

This year’s Paragon Award recipients and their categories are:

Joost Bierens, MD, PhD. – Aquatic Safety
Joost Bierens of the Netherlands has been involved in water safety as a lifeguard, researcher, author, congress chairman, key member of major organizations and international facilitator. Academically, his PhD thesis entitled “Drowning in the Netherlands” highlighted pathophysiology, epidemiology, and clinical studies at the University of Utrecht. He organized the first World Drowning Congress (Amsterdam), the World Safety Congress (Portugal), and the Water Safety Congress (Vietnam). where he presented numerous safety studies. He is the editor of the “Handbook on Drowning-Prevention, Rescue Treatment”, which brought together 144 contributors from 22 countries.

Mark Onstott – Competitive Swimming
Mark Onstott has been coaching boys and girls high school swimming for 38 years, elected as Coach of the Year in Iowa, Texas and Illinois 13 times with 19 years at New Trier Township High School in Illinois.  His teams have amassed a record 900 wins for the boys and 13 state championships for the girls and he developed over 160 High School All America Swimmers.  He is a past president of NISCA, has received NISCA’s highest award, the Hall of Fame Award and was awarded the John Newman Award for outstanding leadership and service in Illinois.

Steve Foley – Competitive Diving
With 40 years of experience as a competitor and coach, Foley has turned around the USA diving program with its best Olympic showing since 1988, winning one gold, one silver and two bronze medals.  As a three-time Olympic diver for Australia, he later became Great Britain’s National Performance Director earning their first Olympic medal in 44 years, at the 2004 Games.  He currently serves as USA’s High Performance Director.

Theodore “Ted” Boyett, BS. MS – Recreational Swimming
Theodore “Ted” Boyett has been involved in swimming and recreational swimming all his life as a teacher, coach, and aquatic director. He spent three years at the American College of Greece in Athens, 12 years University of Rhode Island, 13 years at Georgia State University, four years at Josephine County Parks Department in Oregon, and four in Lewis and Clark College in Portland. Among others, he has over 5000 volunteer hours with the American Red Cross and has been involved as a leader with the Boy Scouts of America, The National Swimming Pool Foundation, and the National Spa and Pool Institute. Since 2011, he has been the facility Manager of the MCAA Pool in Wisconsin.

Chuck Hines – Water Polo
Chuck Hines enjoyed a 40-year career with the YMCA and was a strong advocate for Olympic Water Polo. He was a three-time All-America player and coached at three YMCA teams that won National Championships. He is the author of two instructional books and in 2012, published “Water Polo the Y’s Way.” He served as Chairman of National Committees for the AAU, ASCA and the YMCA of the USA.

Sue Johnson –Synchronized Swimming
Sue Johnson has been the Chief Recorder and scoring chair at six Olympic Games, 1984 and 1996 to 2012.  She also served as Chief Recorder and scoring Chair at four FINA World Championships, five FINA World Masters Championships, and three FINA World Cups.  She officiated at four Pan American Games, four USA Olympic Trials, developed IBM scoring programs, created scoring forms for the FINA handbook and developed a section scoring resources for the USA Synchro website.  She was a FINA presenter at a 2002 Chief Recorder clinic in Dallas.

About Pentair Aquatic Systems: Pentair Aquatic Systems is a world-wide leader in the manufacture of residential and commercial swimming pool equipment, including Paragon Deck Equipment out of its LaGrangeville, NY facility.  Paragon deck equipment, including competitive starting platforms, has been a leader in innovation, design and manufacturing for over 50 years, and is a proud sponsor of the ISHOF “Paragon Awards” since 1996.  For more information about the Paragon Awards, see:

About ISHOF:  The International Hall of Fame, established in 1965, is a not-for-profit educational organization located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Its mission is to inspire everyone to be a swimmer by promoting the benefits and importance of swimming as a key to fitness, good health, quality of life, and the water safety of all adults and children.   For more information about ISHOF, see www.ishof.org or call 954-462-6536

Greg LouganisEraldo

One Hall of Fame Drive, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33316 | 954.462.6536 | All Rights Reserved |  Home |  Contact Us